The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument concludes that three electric generating plants would be enough for the need of city and the city doesn’t need another generating plant because not only home owners eager to conserve energy, but also, manufacturers make appliances that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago; however this conclusion/ recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to surveys but does not indicate how many people took part in the study reported. As you know, in research studies the greater the number of the people in the sample, the more reliable and valid the findings are. Maybe in this study only ten people participated; hence, the findings of such a study are neither reliable nor valid. Even if it is assumed that enough people took part in the study, there is still another problem with the sample. In a research study, the findings can be generalized to the target population if the sample used is representative of the concerned population in terms of age, sex, social class, culture, etc; however, in this argument there is no evidence to show whether the sample used was representative of the target population. It follows that the findings of this study cannot be applied to the members of the population without reservations.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that demand for electricity may decline slightly because of inclination of people to conserve energy or because of efficient appliances. However, there is no evidence to prove that decrease in demand for electricity actually happened because of home owners conservation or efficient appliances. Because, the writer of the argument didn’t shed light on usage of efficient appliances. Maybe the manufacturer can make them but have problems on selling them. On the other hand, the people’s inclination for conserving energy is not enough for decrease demands. Maybe people just have eager to conserve energy and never actually conserve it.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that things remain the same over the years. However, in most cases this is not true. Maybe the need of twenty years ago doesn’t fulfill the need of next year. Maybe the population of the city growth rapidly till those generating plants doesn’t fulfill the people’s needs.

In the final analysis, the writer's conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to all removed.