The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

In the letter from the editorial it is stated that in order to preserve the region's bio diversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built. The author have come to this conclusion based on the similar pattern that is previously observed in Eastern Carpenteria in 1978. However, before this argument can be evaluated, two questions must be answered.

To start with, author prematurely concludes by simply comparing West Lansburg with Eastern Carpenteria. To further illustrate, from the argument Eastern Carpentia had its decline of sea otter population in 1978 but author just compares the pattern with no evidence of similarity. perhaps, the population decline of sea otter is due to the lack of natural resources for that species to survive. sea otter may require lots of water, and during 1978 there may be a severe drought and due to this natural phenomenon the population may decline. If the above scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

secondly, author concludes by assuming a ban on construction of access road along the edge of Wetlands consummately increases biodiversity and it ensures a healthy environment. To illustrate, even, if the construction of road is halted there is no proof of increasing bio diversity and healthy surroundings. perhaps, due to the pause in road construction many inhabitants living there can suffer because of lack of road facility during emergencies. Further, the surroundings can be even degraded due to tufted groundhog if they go violent towards people. If the above is true then the argument does not hold water.

To conclude, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence, regarding the various effects of halting road and construction and the reliance between two areas, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of stopping road construction.