The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The about argument asserts that there had been a replacement of butter by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurant throughout the southwestern US. And, there had been less impact on costumer. Further, what the argument says that the number of costumer who used to previously ask for butter are not complaining when they are given margarine instead. Thus the author concludes that those costumer who used to ask for butter previously are either don’t distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term butter to either butter or margarine. I contempt that the above argument is dubious. The author does not research on the costumer on the respect that are the liking the margarine or not and on other aspect the argument lacks the research on the food they are provided. However, the pancake might not have used butter.

Firstly, the author lacks the research on whether the margarine they are using in the pancakes are real margarine or butter. In the above argument it is likely to be relying only on the costumer. There may also occur that the manager is considering that margarine is used but not all of the pancake have been made using the margarine. Because, there might be like butter is cheap than margarine so they might be using butter. However, the survey assumes that 2 percent of costumer have complained about that but there might be rest costumer are not getting the pancake with margarine. So, the manager should asses that whether all the pancakes are made of margarine.

Secondly, the author is wanting on the respect that some costumer who used to have butter pancakes might have liked the pancakes with margarine. The research on this basis is lacking. For instance, it often happens to us also if we order something and the different comes but we happen to eat those and find it more delicious so didn’t complain. Moreover, this might have also been happening on the above condition. Therefore, the author conclusion might mendacious in this respect, since those who liked margarine that but would not complain on it.

Finally, the manager readily assumes that the costumer who don’t complain on the replacement of the butter with pancakes are because they are oblivious about the difference in these two. However , it might be something like , some costumer have so much trust on some brand or company what they produce or what they make is appreciated by them. So, the author also must account those costumers and come to the conclusion on generalization.

In the conclusion, the above argument lacks persuasiveness in the respect of costumers liking because as we discussed above the costumer have liked the change and they might not be complaining about. So, to bolster the above argument the manager need to have deliberate research on the costumer’s review and also asses that whether all the pancake are using the real margarine or not.