The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with out station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The given argument concludes that to continue their own revenue for the advertising they should restore the weather and local news program earlier which was nearly removed by the television station. It is a formal recommendation from the business manager of the television station. There are some questionable points which should be consider by the author to positively justify its argument.

Firstly, it is mentioned that over a past year the broadcasting time of the late night news program has drastically increased compare to their weather and local news program which is nearly vanished and broadcasting for very less amount of time. The main problem is here that on what basis this analysis had given these results. It may be possible that due to public demand the time for both the programs is changed. What if the viewers in most regions have leisure of their time at late night due to the heavy work load throughout the day. It is one of the factors that time allocation for the programs has changed.

Secondly, it is stated that television station is receiving more complaints from the prospective viewers of weather and local news program. They complained about the very short coverage of this program. The threshold problem to this statement is that there some possibilities for not broadcasting the program in sufficient manner. It is possible that much of local reporters are not supporting to television station anymore. It is also possible that due to some technical issues station is not broadcasting the weather and local news program as they have less information to offer.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that local business that used to advertise during late night news programs has cancelled the contracts for advertisements. As result of this tragedy television station should restore the program of weather and local news at formal level as they were before to not to lose any further advertising revenues. It is not clearly mentioned that why company cancelled the contract. It may possible that due to less reviewers after broadcasting the late night news program the company may lose its interest as well as revenues and profits so they cancelled the contract.

It may possible that after restoring the old program television station may suffer from the less revenue for advertising. It is not legal to show the incorrect information abiut the weather and local news if they are suffering from the lack of information. It may result bad in to the hatred and it will affect the number of viewers.

In conclusion, if all this factors are considered before restoring the old program of weather and local news by television station then it will affect more positively to them. If it is given that on what basis the recommendation is given by the manager then it would, more justify and strengthen the author’s opinion.