The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The evidence used here is to ban the use of cellphones to reduce the incidents of sidewalk crime, is seemingly not with a powerful base. As the petitions states that there has been an increase in the sidewalk rages, it doesn't clearly shows us that it is due to the use of cell phones. It may due to some other reasons like not following the rules of waling or cycling on the sidewalk, or a citizens personal issue with anger whch he/she was trying to drain it out on a stranger. Similarly it may be the case with the drivers as well, who may not be follwoing the STOP signs or respecting the zebra crossings for pedestrains which may lead to quarrels.

The next thing the argument states is that the results of sidewalk rage includes assaults. property damages and distruptions of normal pedestrian traffic, it doesn't directly show any eveidence that the results are because the use of cell phones. The assaults may be due to extraction of money or some other crime that are being commited. The property damages may be a case of increase in drunk and abuse. Or disruption in pedestrian traffic may be becuase of some personal conflicts between the strangers on a common matter. It doesn't, in anyway imply that banning of cell phones will be able to solve the above mentioned problems in this city.

The argument is then backed up by the statement that it has helped Middletown in reducing sidewalk rage by imposing this law. But it doesn't give any more information about the other laws Middletown has imposed. it may be that along with stricter laws on cell they would have imposed even more strict laws on alcohol consumption and getting into a quarrel when a person is drunk. They might have even increased fines in getting involved in activities that may affect the general public. Or they have even started teaching manners and ethics to their citizens for not engaging in such activites and handling them with utmost calm and composed manner.

In conclusion, ther isn't enough valid statements to ban the use of cell phones on sidewalks, and givng the exampls of another city doesn't support any of the statements.