The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors is evaluating a current scenario for higher profitability of Monarch books. They have recommended introducing café in their store so as to increase their sustainability in market. The recommendation should only be considered after a thorough examination of various aspects related to the business.

Firstly, they have shown their prowess in business by displaying their record of the last twenty years and their strong customer base. But using this to justify their decision to open the café seems inappropriate. They have clearly assumed that café will definitely attract more customers. But, this is just the assumption without any credible evidence. There is a good possibility that the decision may hurt the old customers because they will not find the place comforting as before. The newer addition of customers may be less inclined to books and visit the place only to have fun.

Then, the board even recommends discontinuing the children’s section based on the national census which indicates declining population below age 10. This thing is highly inappropriate. National census will give an idea of the situation in a country and not locally. The local scenario may be completely opposite. Children may form a strong amount of percentage in their current customer base. And discontinuing it will result in inimical effects. Instead of expanding their base, they may dig their own grave.

They have mentioned that Regal, too, is opening their own café. Just because their competitor is doing so, doesn’t mean even they have to do it. There is no evidence that Regal is successful using the same model.

Hence, a proper evaluation is required to be done before taking a final call. Every business is peculiar in its aspect and doesn’t always needs to follow a general practice. Monarch may even thrive in business by maintaining their originality rather than go in a self-destruction mode by following a general practice.