The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument here states about a course which is assumed to help the employees to increase their efficiency. Though some statements might be plausible but most of the claim is wrong here.

Firstly, it is mentioned here that many of the companies' employees have been able to increase their productivity. The statement can't be reliable because no specific percentage or number of people is illustrated here. Moreover, here is no information about the previous condition of the companies. if it was mentioned that, 80% organizations have been able to increase their revenue or profit than before or 50% workers could increase their income by 20% than the previous year after taking that course than this argument could have been stronger.

Secondly, The writer assumes that if a person can read at a fast speed, then he can gather more information than the person who is a slow reader. We can't say this for sure as process of gathering information varies in person to person. one person might read a book in 1 hour and forget about the title of it the next day whereas, another person can read the very same book in 30 mins and be able to remember every bit of till next year. Memory retention, gathering information, processing information are not dependent on the speed of one's reading capability or speed. Furthermore, there is no clear indication about how a speed reading can improve a person's productivity or efficiency in his work life. In addition to this, the potential of employees will conspicously vary for which their productivity will also vary. An employee might be already productive before taking the course. The argument might have been considered stronger if there was a clear presentation of the correlation between speed reading and efficiency.

Finally, another vague assumption is that costing $500 per employee will not cost an arm and a leg to the companies. what if a company has 100 employees but they can only increase their profit by $20000 after enrolling all of their employees to the course? And what if another company which has 50 employees is able to generate a profit of $50000 after getting the training? will it be considered as wise decision from all the companies perspective? the argument could have been feasible if the writer mentioned that the course charges different amount for different companies.

In a nutshell, the argument might seem plausible at a first glance but whenever it is read carefully the above mentioned flaws can be seen.