Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Business, politics, education and government are the four crucial factors to evaluate the progress of a country. Without proper leadership and management in these sectors, a nation cannot be developed. I strongly agree with the statement that the tenure in these areas should be for five years for a particular leader or a group.

Firstly, it is important to keep moving with the fast growing society and revolutionary inventions of science. We can see different innovations and novel ideas being flourished now and then and a leader should be aware of the latest discoveries of these tools and techniques to implement those in his field. Moreover, power must not be accumulated only by some people, it should be earned through proper examination and after gathering enough knowledge about the phenomena which are significant to lead in the various arenas. Furthermore, the suitable candidate must be given the priority over the hierarchy of power. For example, if Steve Jobs, the founder of renowned company Apple, thought that only he and his offsprings will lead the company then this company would have been vanquished by any other companies like Samsung, Nokia and so on.

Secondly, If power in one particular person or a team is being prolonged than five years, then reluctance or haughty mentality may arise in the mind of a leader or a leading group in corporates, education and government as well. The existing leaders might feel that nothing can stop them to do whatever they want. By this parochial thinking they will easily eschew from their duties and obligations towards the organizations or the society . The consequence of this type of mentality will badly impact the institutions of which they are in charge of. But if they know that they are to lead for five years then they will not be able to think in a negative way.For this reason, five years duration in leadership role is expected.

However, some might refute the statements by stating that, experience is a more crucial factor than subject or theoretical knowledge. Some People might also think that if the leaders know that their obligations are for only five years then they will do their duties in a slapdash way which will create serious issues for these organizations. After that, it can be posited by some people that, in five years interval the institutions will encounter the various type of changes in the management side which will hamper the very uniqueness of these areas.

In a nutshell, according to the Chinese philosophy light and shadow, it can be mentioned that nothing in this world has only positive sides or only negative sides. Hence, it is our duty to adopt the positive aspects of a thing just the negate the negative effects. In this scenario, a five-year period leadership has more positive sides than the negative ones and thus, I strongly believe that this method should be implemented in every sphere of life.