The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee as— a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The writer of the argument concludes that Acma publishing company would gain more profits if they make their staff take the Essay Read Speed-Reading courses because a large number of companies have claimed that these courses have played a significant role in promoting their productivity. The writer's recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenges in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer concludes that, to reach better achievements, taking Speed-Reading courses is necessary for Acme's staff because it makes them able to read faster and consequently they can earn a large amount of data in a specific time. However, there is no evidence to prove that the number of pages read definitely corresponds to the amount of getting information. In effect, the amount of understanding per work-hour is more effective than the number of pages that are read in a period of time. It is highly possible that a careless reader succeeds to read a remarkable amount of essay without reaching any significant result for both the individual and the company, because he may not comprehend the content of the read context. So faster readers may not enhance the company's productivity.

The second problem with the statement is that the writer assumes that Acme would not suffer from any financial pressure to pay for the referred courses because it cost only 500$ per employee to participate in the Speed-Read programs. However, there is not any clear assertion about the overall expenditures for taking the courses for all of the staff. It is probable that the company has 500 employees and it consequently costs a large amount of money to have all of the staff participate in the referred courses. Hence, the number of staff contributed to this program should be clear.

The third problem with the argument is that the writer's conclusion is based on the positive result, concerning two mentioned cases in the statement, however, the more samples experience the courses the more reliable conclusion can be taken. In addition, although one of the graduated employees from the Speed-Reading courses can read 500-page report in only two hours, there is no concrete evidence to prove that the reading speed of the employee has gained any significant achievement for the company. Therefore, passing the speed-Reading courses may not guarantee taking place of the following advancements in Acma.

In the final analysis, the writer's recommendation can be neither reliable nor correct because, as it was shown in the paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of them is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted it the weaknesses already referred to are all removed. Speed-Read courses might be beneficial for Acme, but it cannot necessarily lead to increasing its productivity.