We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten(where). Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Monarch book store have been in business during past two decades. The writer recommends that opening a cafe' in this store would lead to attract more customers and as a result Monarch Books would compete more efficiently with Regal Books which recently opened its own cafe'. This conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that adding a café to Monarch book store, which was established in the area for a long time, would increase its popularity. However, there is no concrete evidence to prove that people would prefer to use a cafe' inside the book store. It is highly probable that opening a café may make the book store's atmosphere noisy. making and Serving coffee to people in working hours of the Monarch Books may distract customers who used to choose and read the books in the soothed store. So adding a cafe' to this store may not only do not attract more new book readers but also lose its satisfied old customers.

The second problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the cafe' should be launch in Monarch Books replacing the children section. This recommendation is based on a national census indicated a significant reduction in the number of population under 10. However, there is no robust proof that children section is only make up products which are suitable for children under ten. It is possible that the most proportion of this section are teenagers who are fan of the intellectual games and amusing DVDs which are offered beside children books in this section. Discontinuing the children section may lead to lose a large proportion of their young customers. Moreover, the writer's conclusion is erroneously base on a national census that the number of people participated in which is not mentioned. As you know, in research studies the greater the number of the people in the sample, the more reliable and valid the findings are. Maybe this census considered the preference of only ten people about popularity of children books. Hence, the findings of such a census are neither reliable nor valid.

Finally, the writer assumes that Monarch Books will be able to compete better with Regal Books, if it opens a café in its store because the Regal store recently have done it. However, there is no valid evidence to illustrate that the Monarch Books' cafe' would be as successful as Regal books' cafe. It is highly possible that these two store are located in different areas. People absolutely may have distinct favorites in their vicinities. Hence, Regal Books' café may attract more customers to its store because in their vicinity there is no cafe; while, the area which Monarch Books is located maybe full of perfect cafe's and people in that district may obviously prefer to use them instead of Monarch Book's cafe. Therefore comparing the probable consequent of opening a café' in two different book store is not neither accurate nor reliable.

In the final analysis, the writer's conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. Opening a café' in Monarch book store would not guarantee increasing the number of its customers. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.