The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the argument of author looks quite enticing, but author leaves several holes unfilled and interpretation unexplained, which if determined carefully, will lead to the other way.

First of all, the author mentioned that the past year's record lacked by the past records. And he further underscored that the percentage of positive reviews increased. Based on these factors he concluded that the customers were unaware of their movies' quality. But, if that is the case, why was the previous record good? Perhaps the quality of the movies were not satisfactory, like story of the movie, camera elevations and effects etc. It might have been possible that the trailers of the previous year's movie were not that much catching, and after watching the trailers, the umpteen routine customers decided to not waste time on the movie. In these case the quality of the movie should be emphasized rather than the advetisement.

Similarly, there is no mention of the comparison of their competitor's movies. Perhaps their competitor's previous year's movies were better than their movies, or it could also be possible that recently a new competitor launched its movies which caught their potential customers. In that case the overall making of the movie should be juxtaposed with those of competitor's to better analyze their mistakes rather than simply increasing the advertising budget.

Lastly, author argued that despite decrease in costomers, the percentage of positive reviews were increased. But this looks too vague. It might the case that, upon overall analysis, they would found that customer review was decreased.

In short, advertisement is the deciding and important factor in the success of a corporation, but upon meticulous analysis, the author's recommendation would not persuade the deciding leadership to increase the budget.