Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitnessfor-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument is well yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that Plainsville is a good place to Nature's Way to develop next franchise because the residents care about the healthy. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after scrutiny, this argument has some assumptions which need to support to make the statement more convincing, albeit it may appear plausible at a cursory glance.

First of all, a problem arises in this argument that merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. However, this contention is open to a number of interpretations. It might be because the country has a big game of the exercise such as basketball and baseball game so that the residents love to buy such products in recent couples of years, but the high sales might not be due to the health care which the residents notice. Alternatively, the people might think some of the products of the exercise are fashion, therefore, they are lovely to buy them but not because of the reason of wanting to do exercise. We would never know which reasons are their exactly thinking only from the sales. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely scenarios, by no means could the author believe that the good sale in Plainsville is owing to the residents care their health.

In addition, even though the writer may be able to provide us with enough information to infer a solution to the above question, this argument is still ill-conceived. Another problem is the writer states the health club has more members than ever. It may be right the numbers of the members are increasing, but how many numbers are truly increasing is which we care about. The increase can be entirely possible only few people. For example, the members can add from 20 to 30, which could be the new high but still little. In order to confirm his point of view, the writer should pay close heed as well as address the representative probability mentioned above. Only the specific number is the key to bolstering his advice.

Ultimately, even if the previous assumptions might turn out to be supported by subsequently detailed illustration, a crucial problem remains that the article claims the children in school in Plainsville are their potential customers. But this statement is meaningless since there is no evidence the children who need to attend the fitnessforlife course will be their potential customers. In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon presumption which made by the author because presumption actually is inadequate in that the children may be forced to joint the fitnessforlife program, but actually they do not like to do any sport. Also, it could not say if the children enjoy the fitnessforlife course, they will buy Nature's Way products. Pursuing this reasoning proves that the writer has the responsibility to carefully consider his assumptions and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable argument.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the author to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic promises. The argument turns out rather too many unsupported assumptions, most of them rooted in a rather narrow slice. As such, it cannot bear the weight of the assertion that Nature's Way could develop well in Plainsville.