"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The above argument presents The condition where news company is losing its viewers and advertisers are also taking their contents back. The news company believes that it is because of their lack of coverage on local news and weather news during late night program. they also have proposed their plan to cover weather news and local news in order to attract new and more viewers. However their assertion rests on the assumption that people are more interested in local and weather news. further the argument also rests on the assumption that their profit depends on the few advertisers, Who advertise during late night programs. The given argument rests on there unwarranted assumptions and make the argument fallacious and non persuasive based on the following fallacies.

Firstly, The argument fails to mention the number of their viewers and advertisers that are viewing the program during late night. without data regarding the numbers of viewers and advertisers we are not sure weather the news company is going in loss or not. further number of complains registered regarding the program can be useful to evaluate the argument.

Secondly, late night programs of the news channel is not mentioned here. this make the argument misleading and is not persuasive. Moreover the other news channel may provide nation as well as local news coverage with weather forecast so in this condition we are not sure weather the news channel can get advertisements for broadcasting local news or not. The news channel must survey and bring out real cause for the complains and should not be misled my the registered complains. The real cause must be searched for.

Thirdly, there might be problem with the type of program not with the content. Usually late night viewers want to watch comedy type of shows rather than news. they might be tired from work and have just returned home and wanting to watch refreshing shows rather than boring news. Therefore to make the argument warranted they must change the type of show itself.

In conclusion to make the argument warranted the news company need to provide data regarding the type of viewers their work schedule, other competing news channel and programs that interests the public. In addition author must also provide the number of the complains and the amount of revenue earned form advertisers that affect the profit of the news channel.