A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument about the role of recalled food in the deteriorating health of pet animals doesn't have enough evidences to back it up and needs further investigation to establish a conclusion.

It is not clearly stated in the argument about the number of pet illness complaints which came. If these complaints were only few, then the company's decision to recall 4 million pounds of pet food would completely be a waste. Even if the complaints were in good numbers, there is lack of evidence in the argument about other factors which could result in vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness. There could have been a pet wide disease which resulted into such signs of illness rather than resulting from consumption of the pet food. So, it is required to analyze the number of complaints and conduct an investigation for the basis of these complaints. Only after all the alternate causes for these signs are traversed could we conclude that the pet food was responsible for the deteriorating health of the pets and that the food company's decision was right in recalling the pet food.

Also, it is told that samples from the recalled food was tested and determined that all chemicals used were approved for use in pet food. Now, this statement is itself very vague to come at a conclusion that recalled food wasn't responsible for the bad health of pets. We should be told which kind of a lab it was where the food got tested, whether it was an authentic lab or just in association with the company so that it could prove the company innocent. Moreover, we are oblivious of the standards which the lab used to render the chemicals good for use in pet food. if the standard used was quite old and in later years pets developed allergy to any approved chemicals as of then, then the results and conclusion thereafter would go for a toss.

Since the argument houses several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case about whether the pet food was responsible for the illness symptoms in pets or not.