A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The writer indicates that In bay city restaurants number of the seafood consumption has increased which eventually shows that new captain restaurant that is specialized at seafood will gain popularity as well as good profit. However, scrutiny of the above assertion reveals that, it contains series of fallacies and foregoing given evidences can be easily be refuted.

Firstly, it is mentioned that seafood dishes in bay city restaurants has increased by 30 percent but there is no mention about total number of people consuming seafood in the city. there might be very less people consuming seafood so 30 percent increase in the seafood consumption may not account for large people of the city. Similarly if there was great increment in the number of the seafood consumption in the bay city, then why there is not even a restaurant whose specialty is in seafood before? if exact number of people consuming seafood mention would have made the evidence strong.

Secondly, people in the bay city are quiet busy so they do not get to eat home cooked food often but it does not mean that they consume only seafood. what if there are large numbers of people who consume other than seafood? what if people loved to have other variety of dishes as their meal including seafood? if it is the case than majority of the people will go to restaurants which is not specialized in seafood.

evidences given by writer are sufficient and can be easily disproved. To support his or her assertion writer must give more static data about the seafood consumer and food people consumed as their meal etc data could have support his or her evidences mention above. people have been consuming seafood for so long before new restaurant specialized in seafood was established, so there is no grantees that people will go to captain seafood restaurant, and that this restaurant will be profitable.

In sum, if the writer has to support his claim then, he or she must give more strong and detailed information that cannot be refuted.