A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that people should own pets like a dog in order to lead a healthy life. Indeed, keeping a pet not only can contribute greatly to the reduction of heart disease but also can expunge extra treatments. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that based on a study, people who keep a pet enjoy a happier and a longer life than those who do not. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether keeping pets could guarantee people's health and live for more years. One point that should be considered is that this study could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that the author does not clearly mention people who participated in the study were young or elderly. Perhaps young people were more interested in keeping a pet, so, in this case, youth will enjoy a happier life. But maybe elderly did not like to keep a pet because of some reasons like an allergy. So, in this way, they could not lead a longer life because of their ages.

The author also asserts that adopt a dog program should entice people to keep a pet because this program will help people not to suffer from heart disease and a limited need for treatment. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if pets are able to provide a remedy for people and cure heart disease. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that this remedy or program might not last for many years. In fact, what if people's disease again improve alongside with keeping a pet? The author does not give any information or data about what percent of people cured their diseases successfully. Moreover, this program might have some differences with human knowledge and experiences due to the fact that humans have put their efforts for many years so as to find a reliable remedy for heart disease.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author this program will encourage people to adopt more dogs from the shelter. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if adopt more dogs could diminish the number of diseases in general population. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe there is nothing to do with heart disease due to the fact that this program just wants to advertise and encourage people to adopt a dog. What if people prefer not to keep a dog and continue their remedy, which might be more accurate? There is a possibility that this program just wants to get ride off the dogs or perhaps accumulate a hoard of money, who knows?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.