"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The author recommends changing the format from rock-music format to news-and-talk format. The reasoning of the author is in the line that, musis listeners are declining in the area whereas the population of the area is increasing. The author suggests to change the format of the music station, in order to make the radio station popular. there are several flaws in the argument.

Firstly, the author states that, the new population moving to area are mostly retired people and that they have least interest in music therefore, several local stores are closed recently. this argument is not convincing as there can several other reaons because of which the music shops could have been closed. For example, now a days, people are accustomed to listening music through their phone as numerous online music libraries are avilable today which are of low cost and and readily available. The author fails to consider any such secnario, neither he is has provided any any evidence to support his assumption.

secondly, the author assumes that since most of the new population are retire people so, they will love the news-and-talk show format. this assumption is dubious, the author could states proper evidence in to support his argument. For instance, he could have conducted an survey and will the results of the survey, he could have provided proper reasons for suggesting the format-change rather the changing to another music. With is argument, there is no surety that after changing the format of the show will be cent percent hit.

Lastly, the author suggests to change the format of the show to news-and-talk format, but doing this author does not consider about current listeners. there is not points to support if the current listeners are also going to like the particulare show. The author needs to provide answe, if the cuurent listener will continue listening to the show or not. if not then show is flop.

In sum, the argument made by the author for suggesting change for show format is not convincing. he needs to keep in check a number of question in order to make his argument strong, like if the new population likes new-and-talk show, if the current listeners will like it or not.