The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

The environmental protection group that has put forward this argument hasdrawn some unrealistic conclusions from the argument that the small piece of land of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve, to be bought by the company will have severe ramifications on the bird population of the preserve. In support of the argument they have mentioned that their business relies on tourists that will mainly come to see the bird population in the sanctuary and that the measures the co-operation has promised to take to protect the bird population will be futile. Though the conclusion seems plausible at first, an indepth analysis of the argument reveals some major logical fallacies.

Firstly, a major lacuna in the argument is that there is no mention in the argument about what measures the Smith Co-opertaion has promised to take and why do the town people think that these steps to be taken will not be of any benifit to the conservation of birf population and variety. It may be possible that the company has analysed the situation carefully and has a concrete plan about how it is going to protect the avian population after building the hotel. Thus there should be more evidence about why the protection group feels that the company will not strive to protect the birds, as promised.

Furthermore, the argument unfairly assumes that the hotel built on the sanctuary area will be the cause that more tourists will visit the sanctuary and cause a detrimental effect on the bird population. for instance, it maybe possible that there are several hotels in the area surrounding the Wildlife Preserve in which the tourists that have come to do the bird watching can reside. Thus the argument provide any proof as to why the construction of a small hotel by the company will attract such a high number of tourists that it will be a hazard for the bird population in the area.

Considering the above points, the writers of the environment protection group fail to provide a convincing argument due to absence of any concrete evidence. They must bolster with information, the argument that a small hotel constructed by the Smith Co-operation on the land sold to them will be disastrous to the diverse bird population in the area. However since no such proof is provided, and the argument simply relies on some wishy washy observations, it is likely to be incorrect.