"We recommend that Monarch Books open a cafe in its store.Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the cafe would attract more customers. Space could be made for the cafe by discontinuing the children's book section,which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a cafe will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own cafe."

The notion that a cafe in monarch books may seem cogent to compete well with regal books. At the same time, the argument also seems valid at first glance. Nonetheless, this argument is filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. Three reasons would suffice to support my opinion.

To begin with, the arguer assume that a large customer base could help attract more customers. Though it is credible, the arguer fails to provide enough evidence to substantiate this assumption. it is hard to deny the possibility that the major customers of monarch books are busy, they have no spare time to relax themselves in a cafe. In this case, the large base of customers helps little to the cafe. Hence, the argument has deficiencies unless the possible scenarios could be precluded.

Moreover, the arguer incorrectly concluded that taking up the children's book section's space could influence little. it is fair to question the validity of the national census. The lake of evidence could not support the census is disinterested. The professors may conclude something wrong to acquire other benefits. At the same time, we could not believe the national census would also make sense in one bookstore. Therefore, more persuasive evidence is needed to robust the arguer's assumption.

Finally, even if all assumptions above are true, the arguer still fails to provide any scientific evidence nor anecdotal evidence to prove the reliability that new cafe could take a prior place in the competition with regal books'. Let alone the cancled children's book section may disappoint the customers who mainly buy books for their kids. The cost of a new cafe would also provide economic pressure. These factors may make the bookstore more depressed. Worse than, if the new cafe could not bring more benefits, monarch book would hard to compete with Refal books in many conditions.

To sum up, the argument is less persuasive than it seems, for the lack of evidence to assist the arguer's assumptions. In order to rule out other possible explanations, it is necessary to glean more correspond information.