While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that all teachers in high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week is logically unsound since it fails to acknowledge certain crucial assumptions.

First of all, the writer argues that since only 25 percent of teachers assign homework to students in Marlee, this is the sole reason that students are earning good grades and are less likely to repeat a school year. However, this might not be the reason at all. The students at Marlee may be keen to study on their own and also they have higher caliber compared to the students at Sanlee. If the claim presented any information regarding the cognitive abilities of both the town’s students, the claim would have been justified.

Secondly, the author proffers that the students at Sanlee should also be given less homework, so that they can perform better and have a lesser chance of failing a class. But apples aren’t oranges. The reason for underperforming could be two-fold. First, the students may not be understanding what they are being taught. Second, the teachers might be giving so much homework because they do not want to teach as much in the classroom. The failure to take these assumptions into account questions the veracity of the claim. Also, if the students are not of that mental capability, they might be requiring a certain amount of daily homework in order to get them on the same page as others.

Lastly, the author’s comparison of the percentages of teachers between the two towns is vague. There are no statistics provided about the population of the two towns that could verify that these two could be related. The fact that 86 percent teachers give homework three to five times a week at Sanlee may be because the teaching faculty is relatively low at Sanlee. In addition, the 25 percent teachers assigning homework to students at Marlee, might be the same number of teachers at Sanlee. Since we could not compare percentages with numbers and there are no demographics that could authenticate this claim, it renders itself fallacious.

Therefore, the argument that the daily homework should be reduced by all teachers in order to improve the grades of students is spurious, because it fails to justify its assumptions and does not make a cogent case.