In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While there are many cases where discussion among people of contrasting views might lead to progress, there are also situations where it can hinder it, therefore the statement does not hold true for all cases.

Firstly Progress is multifaceted term, encompassing sociatal, technological, economic, philosophical development. A large portion of the technological progress that has helped advance our society, including internet and personal computers have been created by secluded groups of like minded people, and have been adopted for their efficnecy rather than achivements in debates. Same goes for many phyilosophies and religions, Pastafarianism and taoism to name a few, have been created and adopted without drastic discourse, while positively impact the development of our culture.

Secondly, the consensus of a discussion can be far worse for the development than some of the participating ideas. Often, the validity of a statement and the ability of a arguer to support it are not correlated. In my capstone design projects a few great prototypes were made because the authors were nonchalant about criticism, while many high potential projects were doomed at birth because the arguer wasn't a good enough debater. For example would Apple have had such great impact on modern society had Steve Jobs spent time discussing the original mac designs with others holding opposing views. Meaning that great works are oftern created by people with clear vision who are willing to try regardless of opposing arguments.

It is important to understand that abovementioned situations are still rare exceptions. Most progress can be attributed to the discussions among individuals. The creations of ancient greek philosophy, Human Rights, the US consititution, are filled with the examples where society have benefitted from civil discussions among individuals of contrasting views. Even more are examples of tragedies that might have been averted with civil discussions, such as crimes of Nazi and Communist totalitatian regimes.

In conclusion, I would say that while in most of the cases civil discussion is required for progress, there are som exceptions.