The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore the negative ones.

The writer of the statement glances the topic of best way of teaching, and asserts it by praising the positive actions and ignoring the negative ones. It can be true in some situations, but also can represent negative impact. I would disagree with the statement because of its quick divergance towards the negativity.

As mentioned by the writer, the best way of teaching is to praise positive actions, is certainly true. One needs to be praised for their hard work, as it will increase the confidence in the person, making him more involved in the topic. For example, an architect expects praise from his boss for his hard work on the designs of the project. If he won’t be praised, after a while, it will affect his performance as he’ll start feeling the lack of appreciation for his dedication and might end up leaving the job.

However, as much as praising and appreciation is important, focusing on one’s negative points is also important. Ignoring the negative actions will affect the overall performance in the community. For example, if an employee who’s been working hard for the last six months on a project, is only being praised by his boss and is not conveyed where he is lacking, or needs more improvement, it will be a waste of time for both. As the employee is dedicating his energy, time and health and the boss is giving his time for reviewing and verifying the scenario. If he will not be told about the negative actions he’s taking, there are less chances of success.

The best way to teach isn’t always praising the positive actions but is the one which balances both the praising positive and mentioning negative actions. At times, there is a possibility that it might affect someone’s feelings or might discourage them, but there will always be a guarantee of the best possible successful ending.

For instance, if a home tutor is focusing only on the positive results of the student, and isn’t discussing where he is lacking, the student won’t be able to improve. To score well in his class, the student needs to do well in all of his subjects and not just in some. If he won’t be indicated on his mistakes, he will repeat them with confidence, without the knowledge of where he is going wrong. This situation can be altered by the tutor, if he teaches the kid about his mistakes and not only praise him for his good marks.

Hence, as much as it is important to praise someone for their actions, it is also important to show them their negativity. It will be beneficial for the person himself. And that’s why I disagree with the writer.