The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore the negative ones.

The statement discusses the best way of teaching and agrees on praising positive actions and ignoring the negative ones. In my opinion, I would disagree with the writer because of various reasons.

Firstly, teaching can be considered one of the toughest tasks as it requires great concentration and hard work from both the sides, and there are many chances of failing at times because of different reasons. The reasons might include bad teaching technique or carelessness while teaching, or lack of interest from the teacher or the student. But as the statement talks about the best way of teaching, favoring praising of positive actions and ignoring the negative ones can be considered a weakness of the teacher or can also be known as the blunder in the teaching world. And there are many quotidian examples in our lives to prove the statement wrong.

For instance, if a student has a home tutor and is the only person who teaches the student all the subjects and help with other school work and the tests. If the tutor will only praise the student for scoring well in some subjects and will ignore other subjects which require more concentration, it will affect the overall grading or the result of the student. Moreover, she won't ever will be able to identify or accept her mistakes as she's never been told about them and the end result might upset her.

There are many reasons why the statement lacks foresight and shows a concise point of view of the writer. If a person will only be praised for what he is good at, he will enjoy the treaties but this habit might spoil him in the future as he has never faced the negative points about himself. No one has ever pointed out the negative aspects in his work which might also affect his mental state by facing the negativities about his work in a sudden way.

Secondly, if a student won't be told about his negative actions, there are less chances of improvement in the activity. As the student is only being praised for the work he's been doing and there is no view point from his teacher about his weaknesses or on the topics he's failing, will decrease the chances of overall success. For example, if Steven Hawkins was praised by the media and his fellow mates for his first space theory and was not challenged by the other scientists, there is no way he would have searched further for a better space relativity theorem.

Concluding my point, there is no harm in praising a someone for their positive actions, in fact people do need and also deserve the praising for their work, but their negativities also should not be ignored. Confronting their negative aspects might hurt them for awhile, but it will also help them in improving their results which will be beneficial for their future. Hence, I disagree with the writer.