Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Dreams are our guidance through life most of the time. As we know we generally about our own future rather than humanity, a few of us have ideal of saving the world, fighting against inequality etc. I agree with that many unsolved problems are born and stay without resolution because of selfishness in humanity, that is lack of idealism. However, by contrast, this selfish curiosity have created more bigger results and sometimes have become precursor in their fields and inspired extensive people independent from their aims.

Firstly, selfish desire of achieving feeds passionate and ambition. Coupled with these emotions, people have incentive to discover and focus on their final destination. For instance, if Cristoph Coloumb had not kept the curiosity to wander around the world, most of people would still have no idea about America and shape of the world. This discovery had leaded to many differences in geography, accordingly, seaways.This illustrates that passionate and devoting root from selfishness undoubtedly.

Secondly, as we have seen through history, selfish thi achievement instinct also created some precursor figures in several fields such as science, art and sports also. Şahika Sayman, a Turkish free diver, has broken a new record with diving into 83 m. This event has inspired or may even unable some to be heard of free diving. New dreams bring new successes which lead to improvements, refinements and records.

On the other hand, for some cases, I agree with idea that focusing on selfish dreams own can lead problems. For instance, many environmental issues are rooted from reluctant attitude of high segment people, mostly employees. To put it another way, contemplating only own profits can create indirect problems which stay for being solved by struggles of sentimental people.

In conclusion, all things considered, I mostly disagree the notion of worthy goals. In fact, every goal has a worth of existing, consequently, young people should follow their dreams regardless of advice.