Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Beginning from a naive child to an adult capable of taking decisions, everyone has their own wishes and dreams to pursue as a career. dreams could have changed due to varied perspective and the surroundings. From the second paragraph, it could be inferred that the dreams of an individual varies with age, peer group and the environment where they grow. A baby always tries to imitate his/ her parent. professions of a child's parents are motivating factors.

So, a nursery kid, when asked about the future, might answer with respect to their parent's profession, as kids always try to imitate their parents. At a high school level, boys are more prone to showcase their heroism and may like to become a policemen. On the other hand, girl's might be impressed with their teachers and hence could opt for that particular profession.At the college level, lads get interested in bike or car racing whereas girl are prone to cosmetics, fashion, etc.

India's expresident Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kaplan dreamed of a developed nation by the end of 2020. He often advised youngsters to dream a lot and accordingly live by it. it is a good point that passions are to be pursued but whether it will materialise or is it for a good cause, should be taken into account. According to the reason behind the claim, it is correctly mentioned that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. This is true because,what a person likes will be automatically reflected in his dream. when something is what a person likes, then surely it will be his own and hence selfish. Picking a worthy goal is vital than pursuing the dream. many people who felt independent to choose their own life are not successful. Best example could be individuals whose interest will be in music, photography, ...where the income is very less and hence could not afford a decent living. but it would have given them the freedom.

Thus, to conclude, it could be stated that, even though many people dream and advise to dream , it is very important to choose and implement a worthy goal capable of taking them to greater heights