Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the government should be assured of the adequate financial aid of major cities in order to meet theirs thrives. He also supports his claim with the reason the cultural traditions originate and preserved in main cities. I do not agree with this claim and its reason. In what follows, I will list three main reasons for my disagreement.

The first reason which cast doubt over the rigidity of the claim is the fast speed of globalization and modernization of the major cities. In addition, it is obvious that there is a conflict between the modernization and traditional belief. Since the cultural and traditional belief required the specific costumes to be held on, and these costumes require time, it contradicts with the high velocity of modern life which is gained by the core cities. A translucent example which verifies my reason is the costume of New Year celebration at Iran. The New Year in Iran varies from other countries and possesses specific costumes such as preparing the Seven S table, which is a table with the seven components which start with S as the symbols of wealth, health, and happiness. The tradition of having the Seven S table in the major cities of Iran are mostly overlooked or ignored since this preparation requires time, or the families are planning to take a trip and not being at the home; consequently, the preparation of this table seems useless for these families. However, in the rural and small cities, the families show respects toward these traditions and try to follow their every small detail.

Another reason is that the main cities are cosmopolitans, which possess the various type of cultural belief. It is obvious that the big cities host different types of people from different nationality or belief. In this case, the city does not own a specific tradition to be its indicator. Besides, the interaction of people leads to the amalgamation of their belief too; as a result, the beliefs experience the conversion and make them stranger than the pure native ones. In this case, the city does not own the specific cultural value which should be highlighted as the symbol of that city.

Finally, the author uses the reason of the preservation and generation of cultural tradition by the big cities to support his claim; in this paragraph, I would like to focus on the preservation section to show the failure of the reason for supporting the claim. The major cities according to the massive social media and different types of interaction with the overseas countries are more inclined to adopt the foreigner culture which opposes the national one. According to the noteworthy survey conducted in the Sociology program at the Tehran University, 85 percent of the people at the big cities of Iran are trying to follow the latest trends of clothing at the European countries, which completely differs from the national clothing at Iran.

To wrap it up, all discussed reason at the above paragraphs illustrates that the belief of financial support of major cities for thriving and preservation and generation of cultural tradition is just a waste of time and money.