Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There are numerous journals in the world which publish the article of researchers. There is little surprise in Knowing that more than 10000 articles are published every day. In this situation, a group of scholars believes that researcher should limit their concentration to work on those areas which have prompt impacts and applications on the society. Proponents to this view believe that researchers should not concentrate merely on the applied sciences. I incline to the view that non-practical areas of research are as important as practical ones. However, it is possible for some research to predict the outcome of the published article.

First, science is divided into two major areas, Practical and pure ones. In pure science, students and professors work on the subjects which sometimes the researcher does not have a well-rounded understanding about the impact of the research on the everyday experience of people. Take Mathematics as an example. Someone spends one year to solve a matrix equation. He does not know the short-term effect of his endeavors but a statistics researcher used the study to develop a time-series model to predict the future of given data. Now, an economist who works on the effects of a policy introduced recently by government uses this model to critics the policy and shows that it would have an adverse effect on the economic and consequently, can lead the economy to the depression. Admittedly, when a policy-maker reads the Economics article he would try his best to introduce some reforms. Now suppose that the policy-maker read a line of Mathematics article, it is impossible for him to understand the effect of the article on the Economics and it is impossible not only for him but also for a majority of people to predict the outcome of the first article.

However, there should be one modification on which makes the claim and the reason more complete. It is possible for a group of publication to understand the outcome of the research. For example, in applied science and especially humanity and Arts science, the researchers mention their studies on the conclusion part. If a regular student who does not have any experience in this field study the conclusion or in some cases the abstract, she can grasp the effect of the article on the lives of the people in the whole or a part of the world.

In conclusion, I believe that limiting the area of the researchers’ studies to practical would have ramification on the practical areas since these two seemingly unrelated areas work like a chain that we cannot overlook it. However, we should consider that with an acceptable certainty we can predict the outcome of an article in some field of science.