Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is correctly contended in the claim that researchers should not limit their investigations strictly to area in which they are expecting to discover something that has immediate practical application. A holistic approach towards research is highly likely to produce extraordinary products and invention which will be essential for society. The reason provided states that outcome is impossible to predict, but with enough research already done in any field will surely give insight about what to expect; however, it does not clearly expound the main basis of the claim. Today's era has studies based on highly connected streams, a innovation in one field might be beneficial for the benefit of the other as well.

Currently, research areas have been highly intermixed, it has fused into one another. To clearly claim that a development in any field will affect only that field is fatuous. In the past, research topics were highly secluded and there were sporadic fields in which one could study, but contemporary research is mixture of various fields all together. For e.g., in earlier days, there used to be different specific departments of chemical, materials, biotechnology and nano technology, but recently these areas have fused together and breakthroughs in one field affects another.

The prime focus of social networking sites were to connect people through internet, but over the years it has found application in every aspect of society. People are not only connecting for socializing but also for doing business. Stand-up comedians for whom it was difficult to show their talent at large scale are finding this platform highly effective to penetrate across religion, caste, race, ethnicity and demography. Advertisement business has seen new height due to advent of social networking and people choice to use online platform for business. A tool which started for developing basic connection among students of a college, now holds biggest audience for any cause.

Several research whose main target was to benefit defense sector, when subjected in purview of larger audience proved highly effective for other usage as well. Advent of internet, wireless, GPS, and many more were strictly used by army personnel, slowly swept in to common masses in the form of telephone, mobile, wireless, location tracking. It is true that its very difficult to predict the out come of any research and keeping a multifarious approach toward research is always important.

Conclusively, one should not be myopic in looking beyond the scope of their designated field but several inspirations and parallels can be drawn from the collective approach in finding solution of humanities' main concerns. Medical field and Engineering were supposed to be to different sect, but today these societies work hand in hand in order to achieve great inventions.