Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises a controversial issue of whether the educational institution plays a role in dissuading students who are unlikely to succeed in their pursuing fields. Indisputably, educational institution plays a vital role in one's success, definitely institutes can find what are the abilities and disabilities of the student. Nevertheless, educational institutions should not impede the student from his/her desires and motivation. Thus, I generally disagree with this point, educational institutions should guide the students but they should not put compulsion on them.

Firstly, the students in institutions are from different educational backgrounds, and they all have different mental abilities. Some students are good at a particular course while others are not, but others may have knowledge of other topics and may have different interests. Likewise, some students have the ability to work hard and achieve anything, even at the things they are bad at. Therefore it is unlikely that if the student is lacking in a particular subject, he will not succeed. It may happen that he works twice as the other students and can score well in the future. Therefore, institutions should not prevent students from their course of interest.

Additionally, the institutions should not only focus on teaching the new terms and knowledge only, rather they should focus on different interests of the students. Because it may possible that the student has a creative mentality and can succeed in other subjects, instead of technical subjects. Moreover, if educational institutions help to find students their hidden abilities then, it might be very helpful for students to get proper guidance to succeed further. Hence, different events should be performed in institutions to find the hidden potentials of students.

Conversely, no one other than the educational institute better understands the student's abilities. They can understand and observe the students very closely and able to find the lacking areas of students. If the student continues to study in the particular field in which he can't get good knowledge and score then it might be wasteful for the student because he can understand the lessons taught, but he may not be able to apply in real life. Also, if the institute recognizes the lower performing students and shifts them to their area of interest then, it might be beneficial for the other students to seek that course who have knowledge of that course and want to pursue that course.

In conclusion, according to me, institutions should help their students to find weak and strong areas of their interest but they should not force students or prevent them, from pursuing their desired course of study. Also, institutions should organize different events and should encourage students to participate in different events to find their real interests, rather than placing compulsion on the lower performing students.