ISSUE WRITING

Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Educational institutions and students are two inter-dependable aspects of societal development. Students are guided at very early age to the professional level at these institutions. Yes, indeed, it is the institution that shapes the students effort to the career goals. But are they have rights to take this privilege to control students ‘desire to pursue subjects or study of their interests? I think no to this question and I disagree with the author’s statement that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

At first, dissuading students from pursuing fields of study of their interest will result negative impact on fresh brain of the students. At this very early stage of learning and flourishing, these steps drawn by educational institutions will provide extreme de-motivations among the students who are very energetic and passionate to act as a future pillar of nation. It’s should not be like a military camp to respond for an order, instead, students can utilize their power of wisdom to decide their own fields of studies. How can they rise? How can they shine? , if not given freedom to think, freedom to act and freedom to choice.

Additionally, by considering what standards, they set criteria? Since some students are transfer students and some students are those who have bad academic records due to poor health at certain phase of schooling. Now, the institutions have most probably only a grade sheet to judge them in this condition. So, they should not have right of responsibility to impede students’ choice. For example: Albert Einstein, who used to fail in his childhood days turned into a great scientist of entire human kind. If Einstein was judged by his previous academics and hindered him to pursue education of his choice then world could not have received this intellectual personality.

However, some may argue that then what is the responsibility of educational institutions, only tutoring? I want to state that students should be given advise and counseling by these institutions. They should have the responsibility to counsel students in the phase of career goal but students should be given rights to decide for their career development.

In conclusion, in the name of responsibility, educational institutions should not decide the field of study because it is not guaranteed that they are unlikely to succeed as we can see in the above mentioned example of Einstein. Students’ fresh mind is full of enthusiasm so it’s a bad deal to restrict them as it will act as a de-motivation factor for their overall development .Instead, these institutions should provide proper guidelines to the students .Hence, that educational institutions should not have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.