Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically.
Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza.
There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza.
If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.
I disagree with the author that prohibiting skateboarding will return the business in Central Plaza. The argument does't provide no evidence on skateboarding affecting the
business in Central Plaza. There is no direct link to this. The author doesn't focus on the other factors that may have affected the business.
Store Owners in Central Plaza believe that the decrease in their business is due to the increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza. But it does't provide evidence on
how the skateboard users affect the decrease in number of shoppers. It may be due to less necessity of the products that may have lead to the decrease in business or decrease in the
popularity of the products of the stores. It has no direct link between skateboard users and decrease in number of shoppers. If the people need the products then sure they'll come to
buy it.
The author says that there has been increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza and recommends prohibiting skateboarding in the plaza. But there is no evidence that
this is being caused by the skateboard users. It may be caused by the shoppers also. It also does't prove that the prohibition will lead to decrease in litter and vandalism
in the Plaza. Author doesn't provide complete information on the skateboard users responsible for these action.
Thus, the argument is doesn't hold true. Even if skateboarding is prohibited it has no proof that the business in the Central Plaza will return to it's high levels. So the author is
false about the argument.