People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

attitude is one of the parameters that influences the reaction of a person in a situation.The statement asserts that sttitude is determined by situation and surroundings and not by the society.In my opinion,it is uncertain to predict how a person attitude is because that cannot be judged by songle all encompassing criterion.Therefore,I disagree with claim made by the statement and would like to substantiate my view in following way.

To begin with,human psychology is a intricate concept that needs profound analysis.Same goes with attitude as it is a behavioural attribute that is specific to individual and his mindset.In some cases,attitude may also be a innate characteristic for some people that they inherit from their parents through genes.Even this doesn't mean that society cannot have impact on one's attitude.For instance,consider two contrasting nations The United States Of America and India.A typical american citizen would like to enjoy the weekends without being frugal or worrying about financial status.But that is not the case with Indians.They are more wary of their financial status and gives priority to savings than enjoying by following their passion or interests.In this case,the society has played a considerable role in modulating the mindset and that is reflected in the form of different attitudes as shown in above example.

The statement itself is paradoxical.It mentions surroundings as reason for person's attitude.If that is the case,surroundings is a subset of society.that is indirectly pointing out that society is involved in one form or other.Another example could be japan for its resistive nature against natural calamities.Even though japan is frequently victim of natural disaster,it manages to revive and move forward.Obviously the dedication of people and their attitude towards their motherland plays a crucial role in it.The kind of mindset that developed among them makes them immune.

With all this being said,a person can sometimes be influenced by particular situation or a experience.For example,a child who is victim of harasement in childhood would obviously develop fear and may be apathy towards others.Similarly, children who witness domestic violence often make their attitude against marriages or relationships.Even a school student who is among group of friends would be moulded according to their mindset and thought process unknowingly.While these cases are possible,it is ultimately depends upon person and his mental strength in dealing difficult situations.

To conclude,society has a well established role in manipulating individual's mindset.Apart from society,it is also trnable to consider other factors such as person own mental stability.