Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Think of an energetic, mentally sharp young employee starting his office & within a few days he got promoted by his performance whereas double aged senior employee has been in the same position for the last 10 years. The prior example is presented to elucidate a view what the statement is attempted to draw & obviously that is a very common scenario what is going on most of the organizations now a days. What i feel, certainly promotion based on work performance is an important standard but it should not be the paradigm as there are some other factors related to that. So, there should be a balance between performance, seniority and compensation.

Surely many of us in the Indian subcontinent hae gone through the state of disgust while doing something in a government office, where the sycophantic middle aged employee is doing his job in a sloth like speed. Though, may be there is no question regarding his probity, for the efficacy of the organization that is not desirable. On the other hand, a new energetic employee in that situation can make the difference by his speed, dedication because of better focus and courageous attitude of going against the conventional way. So, for this, he should be properly rewarded by increasing compensation otherwise malaise will come over and he will be demotivated. So, as motivation comes from reward, work performance should be evaluated by companies to increase productivity.

So, it is tempting to evaluate performance and determine compensation,however, every organization is structured based on some values & principles and that is why, there should be a proper reward for serving the company for a long time. For example, a senior employee may not give the best performance like a new one but experience comes at a cost. There may arise some quandary which can not be solved by speed & wit but experience. So, by only evaluating daily performance we can not determine the whole package of compensation as it will also demotivate the senior's and decrease productivity.