Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Morality is important in a society. It tells people the difference between good and bad and creates a sense in mind which encourages people to do good things and avoid bad things. Teaching morality is like spoon feeding to a child, the child will blindly believe and assume whatever the parents, teachers or elders are teaching is correct, moral and ethical and should be done without giving any thought and utilizing the brain. Why do we actually need a moral society? One of the possible answers to this question could be that in a moral society, there will be lesser crimes, lesser sufferings and more happiness. For maintaining happiness and harmony, a society and its people should learn moral aspects.

However, if morality is directly feed into students' mind, they might not be able to think beyond it. For them, whatever they have learnt would be correct and they will always oppose what others might try to do out of it which might be good for their own happiness. For an instance, traditions like arrange marriages or same-caste marriages or eating veg food for Brahmins are few of the things which were highly considered moral and ethical once but not anymore. People have started marrying people from other casts and even other religions, Brahmins have started eating non-veg food. Indeed, all the traditions, morals and ethics are required to be examined and changed after a period of time.

Moreover, students learn the foundation of logical reasoning to understand what is wrong or what is right, things would be far better. The society would be more peaceful and happy. People will adapt to new things and changes quickly instead of being dogmatic to their own philosophy. Consider, the same example as above, on contrary, these kind of people can understand that marriages should not have a barrier of castes and will allow their kids to marry inter castes.

Therefore, the society, its students or its people should be taught the foundation of logical reasoning so that they can easily grasp the difference between right and wrong, adapt to new conditions, be open minded, understand the need of hour, analyse things well and then react. This way the people of the society will be more happier and which is why a society needs mores, ethics & values.