Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

Argument concludes that woven basket which have particular distinct pattern were not uniquely Palean. To bolster the argument author cited that paean village is situated across the Brim river from Palean, because Brim river is very deep and broad and not Palean boats have been found there so woven basket were not uniquely the palean .However i found he argument is full of gaps and loop of holes since its presents fragmentary evidence. Neither of them is convincing or compelling.

Biggest fallacy of the argument is assuming that there is only one path to go to palean village. It can be possible that there will be alternative path also for there to go to palean village. Author has previously assumed that there is only path to go at palean village however, it can be possible that there can be another path which may be going from the another village or mountain may be possible.

Another bigger fallacy in the argument in assuming that river is very deep and broad so it can be only crossed by only by boat .there are more other choice may be possible to across river. Moreover, it is also assumed that there were no boats have been found nonetheless it can possible that when research have done at that time only there were no boats because of some reason.

Another big reason for my disagreement that if the woven basket from any other village has found or not .No data for that is also not provided. Also that how broad and deep River is not provided. It can be possible that river may be not that deep and broad. Moreover, the archaeologist study has been trough for how many time is not provided. So, argument is based on some illogical assumption.

So, the argument is result of the huge speculation in which author has comfortably assumed a considerable amount of data. Had the author has discussed the above factors into view, it would rendered the argument irrefutable. But whatever presents fails to provide a holistic picture to superfluous claims being made.