Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Growing traffic and pollution is no doubt one of the biggest issues today. Pollution problems from vehicles are starting to rise significantly worldwide. To be able to solve these problems, only increasing the price of petrol would not be enough.

It is undeniable that the major cause to pollution is vehicles. We need to look into a bigger picture, and not just in one aspect. Traffic congestion has been contributing to pollution; this is because there are too many cars running on the street than what the area could hold. The government could issue policies to increase tax for cars limiting car usage, or owned per family. For instance, a few years ago a policy was issued in Thailand – to deduct tax for first-time car buyers. This one policy made a huge contribution to traffic congestion in Thailand, especially Bangkok during peak hours. Hence the policy was cancelled a year after.

Government could also establish a policy where cars entering business areas, or CBDs to pay extra fees. In addition, parking fees should be increased in town and decreased in the outer suburb areas. This way would decrease the number of cars and lower congestion in highly populated district. One of the countries that has been going by this policy is Singapore. Citizens driving into the country’s CBD would have to pay extra fees, encouraging them to use public transport.

As stated above, promoting the usage of public transport could also decrease congestions. Affordable transporting price could be an aspect to grab citizen’s attention. However, the public transport system in the particular country has to be efficient enough – for example, set schedule, GPS to track vehicles, and how clean they are kept. Otherwise not as many people would be attracted to use it.

In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol is not enough to solve congestion and pollution problems. The government could consider increasing tax for cars, establishing policies to charge extra fees to enter CBD areas, and promote people to use public transport rather than their cars.