By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is still controversial whether capital punishment can be justified by executing criminals. Now I will discuss it by arranging both opinions and decide which side I am on.

To commence with opinions in favour of death penalty, it is deemed that criminals with felonious crimes have a tendency to recommit. According to a study with respect to criminals, criminals with minor offences show a higher probability of rehabilitation while it is almost impossible for felonious criminals to rehabilitate. From this perspective, it is undeniable that it is directly linked to the money government spends.

Turning out attention to the opposite opinions, it is world widely accepted that most countries phase out capital punishment. This is because that people's thoughts towards death penalty has been gradually changed that life holds great significance. Another reason is that innocence would be identified afterward in the wake of upgraded forensic investigation. Even decades later, people who were previously falsely charged are often disclosed innocent.

To sum up, it is my contention that the rest of the world where the death penalty exist should embark on the a tendency to phase out the old practice.