Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It goes without saying that, worldwide commodities are more accessible for people that before. In my opinion, this trend could have both negative and positive consequences in equal measure.

Since the shipping goods considerably become a common form of business, people have experienced more quality products in terms of having different choices. Consequently, people can enjoy products from various cultures today. For example, a range of different cultures can be reflected in food bought overseas, such as Chinese foods or Mexican foods. Also, this pervasive interaction leads local industries to present superior characteristic as long as their foreign competitors’ merchandise are high in demand. Finally, as far as communication is concerned, this multinational relationship not only does world tension diminish, but also helps to establish world peace.

However, the availability of international brands can also be of negative to a community, create redundancies or job losses or even affect tourism. It goes without saying that, importing unnecessary products would create a devastating issue for traditional objects of a nation which might be ousted one day. Iranian carpet, for instance, has exposed to stop production due to artificial and more affordable ones which have widely been distributed throughout the world. What’s more, if people are encouraged to employ foreign goods, thinking it is more glamorous, there will be less likely to provide employment for local people whether these are medicine, clothes, or food. Eventually, tourism industry, may also be affected as people travelling to far flung places to see something exotic, not the same icons they see all around them at home.

In conclusion, the increase in universal products among the people, will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and communities.