Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

This is the contentious statement that academics curriculum is more focus towards learning the facts instead of practical knowledge. This statement has sparked a heated debate among many. I will provide the pros and cons of the statement, and at last my point of view.

To begin with, the benefits of learning the facts, first, the initial stage of any practical work is the requirement gathering. In this step need to collect the merits and demerit of an experiment, and the material required to complete it successfully. Theoretical learning is fundamental to get all the above basic requirement. Second, as someone said, ' to get success in future, one should learn from the mistakes of history'. To achieve any milestone in future, it's required to know about the facts happened in history. In addition, some of the skills i.e. 'General Awareness and General Knowledge' won't have any practicum, to become the master of the subjects need to learn the facts.

On contrary, too much theory without any experiment lead the deleterious results. Just memorize the facts will not be last too long, they will vanish with time. The knowledge comes with experimental results will be last forever and not be forgettable easily. For instance, mathematics equation and formula's won't easy to mug up but, if understands the concept behind them then any formula can be simple and easy to learn.

Having considered the range of the argument, I firmly believe the merits of learning the facts is weighted upon the practical knowledge. I am here, not denying the importance of practical knowledge, but the learning of facts is also required to make minimal mistakes in future work, to get the initial requirement of any experiments, and to make oneself aware about the current affairs.