The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

It is clear that happiness is one of the most important needs of all human being throughout life. In this regard some people may hold the opinion that maintain friendships with a small number of people is more important for happiness than the ability to make many friends while some others may hold the opposite point of view. We need to closely look at the maintain friendships and make many new friend for happiness and then drawn conclusion. Even then, it may not be to totally agree or disagree with the statements. It may depend on whether a person prefers to maintain friendships with small number of people or make many new friend. However, all in all, I am one of those who believe that make many new friends is more important for happiness. There are many reasons to support my point of view and I would like to mention a few of most important ones where are as follows :

First, considering the fact that the humans are different, the living condition of different individual are different. So if someone decides to migrate, they have to make new friends in the new place, in fact after awhile due to absence of old friends their role is decrease. For example, when I went to Tehran I made new friends there because many of my old friends were not there and I needed new friends to spend time with. Therefore, people need new friends at different times and places.

Second, humans are social beings and in order to live in this world they have to learn various knowledge of everything. Since different people have different knowledge and ability, so those who have more friends not only can learn more thing but also they are more successful in their life. For instance, recent research suggests that people who have more friends have been more successful in their lives and more advanced in their work. Thus, having more friends will increase the information of people.

As an English proverb goes, “a coin has two sides”, those who believe that maintain friendships with a small number of people are partially that reasonable that unlike make more new friends, because in difficult time they are more trustworthy. Thus it can has some benefits. Nevertheless, with the facts that I outlined above, I still believe that make more new friends is more important.