The administrators of a university are revising their budget and have decided to change their funding priorities. As a result, the university will now spend more money on sports and athletic facilities than they do on the campus libraries. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not?

Since the dawn of humanity, education has played a crucial role in the life of people. In this line of thought, some universities spend their extra budget for sport facilities rather than buying books and trying to improve library stuffs. I personally subscribe to the view that it will not be a good idea; in the following paragraphs my reasons will be elaborated on this issue in more detail.

To begin with, it is not secret behind the fact that university policies should be based on foster education to pave the way of success for students with the best facilities. generally speaking, students attend to universities for higher education; most of the time, their goal is not learning and practicing sports. spending money on athletic facilities distracts students from studying and seeking for improvement of their knowledge. it would be an interruption for various students, specifically fresh man, if they pay attention to sport rather than their classes. Apart from that, university is not a gym. Put it in other words, old equipment is efficient for students who live in the campus, for example dormitory students, to play, practice, and have healthy life. it means that it does not necessary for universities to dedicate extra money for modification of sport stuffs.

Another reason is that library always demands new and effective devices. In today’s modern life, thanks to technological breakthroughs and cutting-edge innovations in every aspect of science, the way of studying has altered dramatically. In fact, library, these days, is not a place just for books; this place is an important location for universities which should be updated. For instance, accessibility to on-line articles and books, which needs annually fund, should be firstly available in libraries of universities. In addition, one of the most salient factors which students choose a university to attend is libraries. my personal experience is compelling example for this. I have studied my bachelor and master in one university. my reason for choosing again pervious university for higher education was for its library which is the best in our country. All in all, the more updated library each university provides, the more students will attend.

Drawing upon the reasons that I mentioned above, although there are several exceptions excluded from a general rule, I believe that universities should spend extra money for libraries. Not only is not purpose of universities to provide sport stuffs for students, but also updated libraries make a variety of opportunities for universities to attract new students each year.