Are governments doing well in educating people to pay attention to the importance of the food nutrition and healthy eating?

In this modern day and age, developing healthy eating habits is critical due to the emergence of fast foods. The importance in this regard often leads to serious and controversial questions such as whether governments are doing a good job in terms of teaching people to monitor what they eat and if their intakes are nutritious enough. Although the answer to this question might differ from place to place and country to country, I utterly subscribe to the idea that governments are not playing their part in this regard overall. To support my point of view, there are several reasons, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, in comparison to the past, young students are more predisposed to building unbalanced diets, and there is a growing body of opinion among health experts that the reason behind this lies in the fact that governments do not have any plan to educate young students, especially those who attend primary school. As a consequence, the children are becoming more and more susceptible to be influenced by food advertisements that are often try to make kids buy their products as the only thing most companies care about is not young children’s health but rather is their profit. Recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yielded several interesting statistics one of which suggests that in the country of Iran, the amount of toxic intakes among children between five and ten increased fourfold over the course of the past decade. This clearly demonstrates how the government fails to come up with elaborately designed plans to raise children’s awareness regarding what they eat.

Furthermore, the rate at which adults are being diagnosed with serious physical and mental conditions is alarmingly on the rise. Nowadays, unfortunately, the hospitals are full of often young individuals who suffer from cardiovascular diseases and type one and two diabetes and this is merely because of the lack of presence of a healthy lifestyle, more precisely their eating habits. In fact, although there are organizations who try to broaden youth’s knowledge of the benefits of eating healthy, they usually neither have adequate influence, nor enormous funds to speak their voice. The only organizations with both financial and media resources capable of making impactful moves are governments. However, the statistics support the idea that governments do not have serious intentions to step up to the plate and solve this worldwide problem

To wrap it up, contemplating what was discussed above, I am of the strong conviction that governments do take appropriate steps to raise societies awareness on the advantages of eating healthy. This is because most young children have a severe disposition towards eating unhealthy foods and because young people are highly at risk of developing serious physical and mental conditions. Governments should snap into action as quickly as possible if they want this adverse trend to be reversed.