In areas where there are many restaurants, some people prefer to buy their meals in restaurants very frequently, rather than cooking and eating meals at home. Other people prefer to cook most of their meals at home and only rarely eat in a restaurant. Which one would you choose and why?

To begin with, home cooked meals are healthier than meals from restaurants, and I strongly value my health. While meals prepared at restaurants are certainly delicious, they include a lot of oil, salt and sugar. Over consumption of such ingredients can have a profound effect on our health, and can even lead to chronic illnesses. When I cook for myself at home, I precisely measure the amounts of unhealthy ingredients that go into my recipes and try my best to limit them whenever possible. It is true that my meals may not taste quite as savory at those I might get at a restaurant, but this does not diminish my enjoyment of the meal. Rather than enjoying just the taste of the food, much of my pleasure is derived from the enjoyment that went into the cooking of it, and the peace of mind that I gain from knowing that I am taking care of my body.

Secondly, these days restaurants are increasingly expensive, and this is a major consideration in today’s precarious economic situation. I do not blame the restaurants for this - they must pay a lot for labor, real estate and utilities - but it is true that a meal that might cost five dollars to prepare at home will cost ten times that amount when purchased at a restaurant. Moreover, my country has a tipping culture, which adds increased costs every time I eat out. For example, I remember last month how I paid about fifteen dollars for a simple meal of fish and chips. Potatoes are clearly one of the most inexpensive vegetables in the world, and since I live near the sea, fresh fish can be bought at a local market for just a few dollars a pound. I enjoyed my meal, but paying that much for it made me feel like I was being irresponsible with my money.

In conclusion, I certainly prefer to eat at home rather than at a restaurant. I feel this way because eating at home is healthier, and it makes a lot more economic sense than going out for an expensive meal.