Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Some people argue as if it is a general truth that people are less satisfied with their lives now. As far as I concerned, I disagree that people now are less happy than people were in the past. my arguments for this point are listed as follows.

one of the primary causes is that people have more opportunities to develop their interests which makes them satisfied. Contrast with before, people nowadays can learn different things via the internet. because of the internet developing, we can learn almost everything we want via websites or social media, like personal blogs, YouTube, etc. At the same time, having an interest help us make true friends and develop our confidence. All of these could make us happy.

For example, I have learned guitar from YouTube for five years. When I went to college, I was so nervous on the opening ceremony, and I did not know anyone besides me. I started to talk with a girl who had the same major as me. Surprisingly, she had been in a band before. we chatted about not only our favorite band but also the skills of playing the guitar. she became one of my best friends in college.

What is more, people may face strong stress now; however, we also have more ways to release their pressure. As before, people could only release their stress by exercising. There are more and more people choosing to play video games or watch movies to relax. Everyone can find the most suitable way to help take a break. For instance, one of my friends is poor at exercising because of asthma. she could not do any exercises to release the stress accumulating from daily life. one day, she found a funny puppy video on the internet. she laughed and forgot about the worrying problems at that moment. she found out a suitable relaxing way that did not exist in the past.

general speaking, people now are not less happy than before. Recognizing the fact that the more opportunities to develop interests and the different ways to release our pressure should drive us to conclude that people now are more satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.