Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is one of the most important things which everybody can have during life. When you have trouble with difficulties in your life, only your true friends may help you. Not many people have this realistic and pure friendship and those who have these brilliant friends are absolutely the lucky ones. Friendship with real friends makes you feel you are not alone. This type of friendship cannot be achieved only by passing a long time and having a close connection only with a few people. I, as an individual, think that the statement proposed in the question is true. Keep your few friends over a long period of time is more important than making new friends easily. I hold my opinion by bringing some reasons and examples in what follows hereunder.

The first and foremost, as I said above when you have some problems or issues and do not know how you can solve them you can trust your true friends and share your difficulties with them and get help from them. Also, because of being your true and honest friend, they would never manipulate or abuse you. I have a personal example. I have some friends who are the best ones in my life. A problem happened during my semester project and I ask of my friend to handle the project when I was not present in university and she willingly accepted my request and handle mine properly. That was a worthy thing for me and I reciprocate her kindness by buying her a gift.

Secondly, when you make many new friends easily, you also may lose them easily because most of them are fair-weather friends and you cannot trust them. I have another personal example here. My friend easily left me alone because of her boyfriend when I absolutely needed her help. So from then, I perceived that I must keep those few friends who are very kind to me and help me and I also help them either.

To sum up, every person has some true and real friends who are the best ones and should maintain his/her friendship with them and avoid making friendships with those who just want to abuse him/her. Also when you get old, the only your old and gold friends are beside you and help you and also are the inspiration to continue living. So be appreciative of your true friendships until your death.