Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, people have got in touch with each other for various purposes. One of these purposes that play a prominent role in an individual's satisfaction is friendship. One of the most challenging topics on which there is no consensus among people is about the length of friendship. Opinions are divided into whether humans are much delighted with their handful of long-lasting friends or with their ability to make a new friendship. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that a long-life friendship is a precious gift that cheers humans up. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, long-life friends are more reliable and trustworthy in comparison to new friends. In other words, when an individual comes across an unexpected plan or a hurdle, their best friends provide assistance and also can keep his/her secret. As a result, it would be a kind of relief for that person which directly leads to great convenience and makes him/ her happy and elated. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this, a couple of years ago, when I had had fix my plan to migrate to Canada and had read about all ins and outs of my trip and its requirements, of a sudden I realized that I could not transfer money to my university in Canada due to banned international transaction and if so, I would lose the opportunity of attending the university in four months. Therefore, my friend, who is more than a friend to mine, offered me to pay that money on my behalf. Had she not stood by me in that tough time, I would not be in the best university and be cheerful right now.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that almost everyone not only enjoys their old friend's companionship but also respects his/her privacy. As friends with more than ten years of memories of friendship have much in common with each other and are on the same page, they would spend a great together, and they would have the time of their life noticeably. For instance, whenever I hang out with my close friend, I do not feel the passage of the time, and we laugh until tears come down from our eyes. The interesting part is that only two of us understand what we are laughing at.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that long-life friends lead to happiness. The fact that these friends can be counted on in difficulties, coupled with they understand you much better, is the reason which strengthens my claim.