do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

after completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin at a university.

Nowadays it is getting more and more common to skip a year after finishing school and travel around the world or to work to have some experience. Most students decide to take a gap year before enrolling the university. In my opinion, taking a gap year is an irresponsible decision because most of the knowledge which was gained during the school years may be forgotten. Moreover, students are likely to become less disciplined, and some of young people may take a decision not to continue their higher education.

To start with, skipping a year before going to university is a waste of time since students tend to forget what they have learned in school while having a long vacation, which may negatively affect their entrance exams results. Accordingly, it takes another year of golden days to brush up their knowledge or even sometimes to reeducate themselves to be accepted to university. However, Many young people choose to travel to learn more about the world and themselves and discover their new abilities or skills which could help hem and their future. It is necessary that students remember all the details learned in high school, because in order to enter university it is important to have a deep knowledge and a lot of experience.

Furthermore, a year off before taking university exams leads to loss of self-control qualities which are necessary for any successful student. Self-discipline supports students when it comes to planning time management and copying with all the work overload that students are supposed to do. To my mind, skipping a year is the beginning of a different kind of lifestyle which is out of standards, and not only it is harmful but it is also a main factor that causes full regimentation disorder.

Thirdly, It is a frequent case when students give up thinking about their higher education while having a year off before going to university. After finishing school they tend to find jobs and gradually get involved into their daily life which requires having more and more responsibilities and they begin thinking less and less about getting their further education. Neglecting studying is ruinous in every field, that is why our world lacks prominent and well-educated professionals. Thus, it is not beneficial to lose one year instead of doing something more productive.

To conclude, I believe that finishing high school is the begging of a new era in every students life and this period should not be wasted in vain. Acquired school knowledge should be used properly, and students will benefit a lot if they keep disciplined, and try their best to get sufficient education to be good professionals.