Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities offer variety of courses in each semester and some of them are compulsary for all of students, such as history. In my opinion a course like history shouldn't be obligatory for all of the students disregarding of their major. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

At first, in each field of study there is enough hard and time consuming courses, which makes student busy and involved. Adding an extra course, like history, to their courses would be a trouble, since history is not related to most of the university fields. It is ok for an archeology student to take the history course, but it is not beneficial for an engineering student. In fact, if engineering students took the history course, they would probably waste their time by studying something that won't be usefull for them in the future. Instead, they can dedicate that time to more important courses and deepen their knowledge in related fields. My own experience demonstrates this situation. Three years ago, when I started my first semester at the university as a computer engineering student, history was an obligatory course for us. I found the most boring hours of my life in that class. My friends and I would literally do anything other than listening to the teacher, while other student who were interested in history would enjoy the class a lot. In fact, we could spend our time doing somethig more precious than wasting that time in that class. Had I been able to take a related course, I would have exploited my time more efficiently.

Moreover, a topic like history is a boring subject. Actually, not everybody enjoys this topic, since it is mostly simple stories about the past and some dates and facts to memorize. One should be very interested in history, in order appreciate studying and dedicating time for that subject. As a result, it would be better if history wasn't a mandatory course for everybody. In that way, everybody who takes the history course, probably is the one who is interested in this topic and eventually the productivity of the class would rise, with enthusiams of the attendance.

To conclude, it important to let student choose whether they want to take the history course or not. This is due to the fact that, it would waste student's time if it is not related to their field of studying and in addition, history is not an interesting subject for everyone.