Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowledge is all around us and can be acquired by varies means. University serves as a fundamental resource of knowledge and the first step in an oriented career and hence students focus on what leads to excellency in one’s path. Therefore I'm against forcing students to take history class despite what their major is. And I feel this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, university should be a stepping stone for a specific target. In other words people attend college with a certain mindset to achieve a goal by requiring all they can get from their professors who have a wide range of information in their career in a limited amount of time, so adding a course they are not interested in but yet are obligated to pass is considered a waste of time and effort. For example, a medical student who is having a hard time catching up on all his courses and trying to keep his grades up, which will entitle him for a good internship position, is asked to take history class which not only serves his career no good but also has the ability to affect his scores.

Secondly, history is not an easy subject to be discussed with a half a brain on the contrary it should be sought by those who are truly interested. University should give freedom to the students in regards to what extra information they want to gain and hence willing to exert effort. Moreover, not all knowledge can be learnt in a classroom and anyone can widen their historical information by either searching the internet or going to a library. For instance, I remember when I watched the movie "Interstellar" and that made me engrossed in astrophysics that compelled me to search the internet on these topics even-though it had nothing to do with my major or career.

To sum it up, I think that forcing university students to take any course that is not their primary concern should not be permitted for the reasons I mentioned above, and because I strongly believe that no matter how important the class if it was not for the ears of an interested person will mean absolutely nothing.