Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world has changed tremendously in the last few decades. All sorts of innovations has been introduced to humanity, all thanks to gigantic corporations and their endorsements. Advertisements are mainly for promotion but yet served as a medium to new discoveries and I encourage their usage for the following reasons.

First and foremost, advertisements are the methods by which any organisation communicate with the people. And since no population has the ability to keep track of all the new products being made each day, there had to be a link between the makers and the buyers. Moreover, some merchandise need to be simplified for the public and here comes the advantage of a commercial ad. Take pharmaceutical companies for instance, not everyone can understand the original drug monograph and hence those organisations use a more plainer terminology. For example, when my grandmother was diagnosed with GERD and she was prescribed “Nexium”, which she recognised immediately due to the advertisements she saw, making the process of explaining the drug much easier on her doctor.

Secondly, advertisements can be used as a tool in decision making. Nowadays every item has multiple competing manufacturers, and each try to excel by adding a certain feature to their product. However, having too many options in the market with equal appeals can be time consuming for the buyer who will have to review them all before deciding. Therefore, I think the advertisements made by the producing company can highlight the main qualities of each product which can aid the consumer choosing. Illustrating that by the time I wanted to purchase a new phone and was confused by all the alternatives, and every person’s opinion was based on their experiences and preferences. In the end what really helped me make up my mind was watching the ads on the internet and made my decision based on my need, since I love taking pictures I was looking for a phone with high resolution camera.

To recapitulate, I believe that advertisements are an essential part of marketing all items and the reasons mentioned above are an example of that. Even-though there is a controversial viewpoints I believe in the advantage of advertisements and think that their positive impact far outweigh their negative influence.